Return to Headlines

Onion Festival set April 17 at PHS

5K
Sign-ups are underway for all the activities surrounding the 17th annual Onion Festival, which is scheduled for Saturday, April 17, at Princeton High School.
 
In addition, organizers are also looking for more arts, crafts and food vendors for the Princeton Lions Club event.
 
Proceeds from the all-day community festival benefit several programs sponsored by the Lions Club in conjunction with PISD, including glasses for economically disadvantaged students and the Angel Tree program that provides toys, food and clothing to families in need at Christmas.
 
Visit the Princeton Onion Festival website for more information at www.princetonisd.net/onion-festival.
 
Several activities will be featured at the all-day festival, including the popular craft show, 5K, fun run, car show, raffle, silent auction, futsal, basketball and tennis tournaments, mini train and pony rides, food and games.
 
The 5K RUN/WALK kicks off the event with check-in at 8 a.m. for the runners and walkers. Cost is $20. For registration forms and route information, click here. In addition, the Onion Festival will feature a 1-mile FUN RUN for kids. Check-in begins at 8 a.m. and the run starts at 8:45 a.m. Click here for registration form. 
 
For contact information and overall details for the 2021 Onion Festival, click here to access the event flyer.
 
The 4v4 FUTSAL tournament will continue this year with registration set from 11 a.m.-noon. Cost is $40 per team. Click here for the futsal information.
 
3-on-3 BASKETBALL tournament begins at 10 a.m. with registration at 9. Cost to participate is $10. Click here for details.
 
Check-in for the CAR SHOW is 9 a.m. at Princeton High School. Click here for car show details and registration. The car show will feature 20 classes, and awards will be presented at 2 p.m. Cost is $20 to register.
 
The deadline to sign up for the TENNIS tournament is Friday, April 2, with games set between 1-4 p.m. on Saturday. Cost to participate is $20. Click here for details.
 
Vendor booth space is available for ARTS and CRAFTS. Deadline to reserve space is Friday, April 16. Click here for vendor information. 
 
The following organizers/volunteers can answer specific questions regarding:
 
- 5K, Amy Ivy, aivy@princetonisd.net, or 469.952.5400, ext. 3501;
 
- Kids fun run, Jona Boitmann, jboitmann@princetonisd.net, or 469.952.5400;
 
- Futsal tournament, Kent Ackmann, rackmann@princetonisd.net, or 469.952.5400;
 
- Car show, call 214-801-6799;
 
- 3-on-3 basketball tourney, Matt Riggins, mriggins@princetonisd.net, or 469.952.5400;
 
- Raffle for pellet grill, Donald McIntyre, dmcintyre@princetonisd.net, 469-952-5400, ext. 3506;
 
- Auction, Jona Boitmann, jboitmann@princetonisd.net, 469.952.5400, ext. 3501, or see any Lions Club member to donate;
 
- Craft show, Nichole Powell, npowell@princetonisd.net, 469.952.5400, ext. 2004;
 
- Tennis tournament, Brian Cottongame, bcottongame@princetonisd.net, or 469.952.5400.